top of page

Thrifty Thursday

My name is Tasha and I have a confession to make:

I AM ADDICTED TO THRIFTING!

This started as a young kid. My mom would take me to the thrift store to get school clothes and toys and just to look around. At the time, I did not always appreciate the excitement of thrifting. I think I fully began to appreciate it once I was out on my own (and surviving on my own paycheck). How was I going to clothe myself and have a cute apartment on my lowly barista wages? Thrift stores, garage sales, craigslist, clearance items, etc. soon became not only a necessity but a fascination. For me, it's all about a treasure hunt. You find unique, quality pieces at great prices! Not to mention, most thrift stores support local charities and non-profits and it is a good way to recycle goods. I hope to pass this exciting but also frugal way of shopping on to our kids.

With that said, I decided to use this blog to share my finds with you and dedicate Thursdays to thriftiness! This week, I found a couple great decor items. I also found some clothes for the babies but I want to focus on this gorgeousness!

Aren't they pretty? That gold tray was $9.99 which is WAY more than I would normally spend on something but it is so heavy and beautiful, I couldn't not get it! I'm not sure what I will do with the tray yet but I thought it would be easy to put on a table or even hang on the wall. Check out the pretty details.

And let's talk scale for a minute here. This thing has a whopping diameter of 23 inches! Huge and beautiful! That's enough antique brass to make my heart sing!

And this art piece called to me from across the store. We want to paint the wall behind our bed a pretty grayish blue color and I thought this print would pop against it. We also have vaulted ceilings in our bedroom so I needed something fairly large to fill that space. This is 27" by 32". Now we just need to find a frame!

It is titled Water and is signed by Cynthia Hollandsworth. I tried looking it up but wasn't able to find any information. It's hard to tell from the photos but there is some great texture on this piece as well. We have more of a global feel to our bedroom and I thought this would add a little bit of modern to the space.

Oh and I only paid $6.99 for it! With the art and the mat, I thought it was a steal. By the way, I found these two gigantic pieces at the beginning of my thrifting trip. I had the kids with me (who knew two little humans could take up so much space in the cart) and had to get creative with how I toted everything around. I got a pretty good awkward workout!

I can't wait to show you how I style both the art and the tray in our house. How would you style the tray? Any suggestions? Do you like the idea of hanging it on the wall?

bottom of page