top of page

DIY Dollar Tree Wreath


When summer arrived, I realized that our front door needed a little sprucing up. We only had a wreath for Christmas. I had made a monogram wreath a while back but wasn't happy with the colors. I figured it was time for something new! I've had my eyes on those beautiful faux boxwood wreaths that are all over right now but could not bring myself to pay around 50 dollars for the thing! So, it was time to get creative. I had heard that the Dollar Tree carries faux boxwood balls and was hoping I could re-create the expensive look on a tighter budget. However, after hitting up two stores with no success, I had to change paths and figure out a different look. Peering through the faux flowers and foliage, I just wasn't getting excited. A lot of them looked too fake and just weren't the right color scheme for my taste. Then the purple and fuchsia caught my eye. Thinking about our blue door, I knew these colors would pop. 12 dollars later, I had more than enough supplies to make a cute summer wreath. Now, you guys, this is SO EASY! I have NEVER made a wreath before and was terrified I would screw it up, but with only a few dollars into it, I figured I wouldn't be heartbroken if it didn't turn out the way I imagined. So here goes probably the laziest.....ahem, easiest..... wreath tutorial with all Dollar Tree materials.

wreath form

MATERIALS NEEDED:

1 wire wreath form

2 burlap ribbon rolls (9 feet each)

1 roll of floral wire

Your choice of florals (I used less than pictured / about 3 bunches of lilacs and 2 hydrangeas)

The first thing I did was take all of the ribbon off of the spool and started placing it on the wreath form. I used a small piece of floral wire to attach it to the form (I was able to cut it with just a normal scissors... no wire cutter needed). I simply stuck it through the ribbon and wrapped it around the form until secure. Instead of weaving... because I'm lazy.... I simply placed the ribbon under the width of the form and started bringing pieces of the ribbon up through the sections of the wreath form. To keep them somewhat secure, I just simply squeezed the pieces since there is wire in the ribbon's edge. Once I got to the inside circle of the form, I just wrapped it around and did the same thing until I got to the next cross member.

I weaved the ribbon through the cross member to make it extra secure and then placed another piece of floral wire to keep everything in place. When I needed to start my new ribbon roll, I just fastened the end of the first one with floral wire and did the same with the beginning of the next roll.

I continued with this process until the entire form was covered with ribbon. From there, I started to flatten the sections of ribbon that were peeking through the form to create a fuller look. There really is no special technique here, just flatten and cover that form until you like it!

Now it was time for the flowers. I removed each little stem at a time, wrapped some floral wire around the stem, and then wrapped the other end to the form. I tried to tie the floral wire in strategic places so the ribbon could conceal it. I chose to do three bunches of flowers but you could do more or less based on your liking.

And there you have it! A cute and easy inexpensive wreath for spring and summer. You could hang it from the form itself or use a piece of string or ribbon you have lying around your house. I used some grapevine wire to create a loop because I liked it hanging lower on our door. I think this would look really cute in an entryway hanging over a mirror or in a little girl's room. With faux florals, there really are endless possibilities. It stays pretty warm around here for a while still but I've already got some ideas stewing for fall. What do you think? Does it look easy enough to make yourself?

*This is not a sponsored post and all ideas, photos, and projects are my own

bottom of page